Overkill Finish

Hey, you know how I’ve been “working on” The Demon’s Guardian on and off for the last… 4 months? And you know how sometimes I worked at it pretty steadily and other times I’d go a week without doing anything?

Well… it’s done.

Yesterday, The Demon’s Guardian was a sort-of-almost finished, 37,000-word manuscript. Today it is a completely done 44,000-word manuscript. How did that happen, you may ask? Simple. I came home and truly dedicated the day to it. I went on the NaNoWriMo group on Facebook and asked people to join me for 1-hour fast-paced hardcore writing sessions. With 10-minute breaks. So overall this took me about 7 or 8 hours to accomplish. They were just very dedicated hours.

So I want to thank everyone that’s been around, supporting me, and especially the ones that made this particular day possible. I wish I could do this on a regular basis. Even 2 or 3 hours of it a few times a week would have gotten this done a lot faster. Who knows? Maybe I’ll get to that point some day.

What’s next, you ask? Well, I just have to add these latest chapters to the file that my beta readers are already starting to look at, and then I can let them work for a while. As is tradition, I shall stay away from my work for some time, at least until the beta readers are done with it. I’ll take this time to plan out the publication a bit, make some more marketing efforts on The Third Face, and possibly even start a little on the third book in the trilogy. Have I mentioned I’m excited about that one?

One thought on “Overkill Finish

  1. Super-productive days are grueling…and the best thing ever. I wrote 13K in a day and I was so damn proud of myself. I’ll never forget the feeling.

    Anyway, congrats on finishing the first draft of TDG! I’ve fallen behind on comments but will get back to it soon. (Grad-school applications are calling…)

Leave a Reply

