Get On With It!

So, it’s been over three weeks since The Third Face came out. I’d love to say that I’ve been promoting like crazy. Believe me when I say that I’ve used every option I thought I had, although that’s been fewer than I’d like to admit.

The reality is that after I got done with the big launch party at the beginning, I didn’t really know what to do next. I’ve brought it up where I could, but lately all I’ve really done is avoid the problem. The problem being that I don’t have a clue what marketing is really about. Even when I have networked with other authors, it was more about trying to make a friend than actually accomplishing things. The only way I succeed these days is by talking with people that already know me pretty well.

I’m kind of conflicted right now. My book’s initial launch window is over, so it might be time to really get working on the sequel, The Demon’s Guardian. On the other hand, I’ve hardly done any effective promotion. Maybe now that I’ve finished with the big celebration, it’s time to look at the long-term success. What can I do that will not just attract one or two curious eyes to look at it, but also continue to leave impressions on people long into the future?

I do know that marketing is never done. The problem is, I have work and college to think about, along with some other responsibilities. Can I really handle marketing my book while writing the next one at the same time? Especially when I obviously don’t even know what I’m doing.

Well, nobody said it would be easy.

3 thoughts on “Get On With It!

  1. Ideas: Virtual Book Tour, giveaway (standalone or as part of book tour), local independent author events/book signings, guest blogging, informational posts. (You can hire people do organize a virtual book tour for you!)

Leave a Reply

