The Seeds of Hype

When you come out with something–say, a book–you want it to be a big deal, right? I guarantee that if you can make a spectacular fanfare about something, people are more likely to notice it. That’s obvious. The question is: how do you turn something into a big deal?

Well… you act like it’s a big deal. That’s all there really is to it. Tell everyone you know and make it sound like that’s all your spare time is going to, getting ready for whatever event it is that you have set up around your book or whatever other product you have.

What’s that? You don’t have an event? Well, why not?! You have to have an event. Find a place that’ll host you and your stuff, talk to the people there (remembering you’re bringing in business by doing this) and set up a day, time, and basic plan for your event.

When you hand people invitations to a party, you’re going to get a much greater response than you would if you just told them that, oh, you wrote a book. Believe me, I have a lot of experience with this. I don’t know why this is, but some people that didn’t even remember I was a writer saw my invitation and said, “Whoa! You write books? Yeah, I’ll definitely go.”

This is how I brought a small book launch meant for a handful of family and close friends–say, maybe 10 people–up to a point where I’m preparing for perhaps up to 40! I also set up an online launch party a couple of days  before, just for the ones who won’t physically make it there.

I also started bringing it up often here on the blog, on Facebook and Twitter and in larger groups. My new YouTube channel popped up to give people a new way to find out the news, and hopefully that will allow people to engage more fully with me. And today, I took a photo of myself holding up my book, made it my profile picture on Facebook, and within seconds I had quite a few “Likes” racking up on it.

All this contributed to the idea that I’m really focused, really excited, and really eager to get this book out to the world. People that didn’t know it existed a little while ago are getting caught up in my personal hype, and that’s how it spreads through them to more and more people. That’s what it’s all about.

Leave a Reply

