“The Next Big Thing” Blog Hop

In this interview I tell you all about The Third Face: where it came from and where it’s going.

Thanks to Caitlin Hensley for tagging me. In turn, I am tagging Duth Olec and Kat Mellon.

Here’s the interview in text form:

1: What is the working title of your book?

The Third Face.

2: Where did the idea come from for the book?

The universe just kind of developed over many years. The character came from some songs I was listening to at the time, though.

3: What genre does your book come under?

It really walks the line between science fiction and fantasy.

4: Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

It would probably be more of an anime (Japanese cartoon) than a movie. I’ll talk about the voice actors in another video–this one is long enough.

5: What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

They say the only person you can trust is yourself, but Rasuke doesn’t have that luxury.

6: Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency?

Self-publishing is all set, and it’ll be out on April 5th. That’ll be a pretty big event, so I hope you all come online for that!

7: How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

It must have been a couple of years. I’d say each draft since then has gotten faster.

8: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

One of my favorites that’s really close to it is The Black Tattoo by Sam Enthoven. It’s got the same kind of twisted world that I use. Otherwise you might call it somewhere between Ender’s Game and Discworld.

9: Who or what inspired you to write this book?

It’s kind of a combination between these pretend games between me and my best friend, and some of my interests–heavy metal, video games, and anime. I dabbled a little bit in the Japanese storytelling style, though I haven’t gone all the way there yet!

10: What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Besides combining sci-fi and fantasy, it also happens to be about a crazy person. These kinds of issues aren’t usually covered in an adventure story like this one. It has a lot of different parts to it stuffed into a short book, but that shouldn’t stop you from keeping up–the pace should be just right.

http://dutholec.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

